more than $1 MILLION raised to improve OUR FUTURE

Lee County Education Foundation

As community leaders planned how they could raise money to support innovative, research-based educational programs in Lee County Schools, they formed the Lee County Education Foundation. The vision remains as it was then: to help create an outstanding public school system that graduates students well prepared for the 21st century workplace and success in life.

Organized in June 2003, the Lee County Education Foundation is recognized by the State of North Carolina as a non-profit corporation and by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service as a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt, charitable organization. It is managed by a president who reports to a 16-member board of directors. Foundation offices are located in Sanford.

Since its inception, the foundation has invested more than $200,000 into a variety of Lee County Schools initiatives to serve teachers and students. Pre-K to grade 12. Reading, math, social studies and science classrooms. College prep and career education. All have been elevated by the foundation and its generous contributors.

And that doesn’t even include Head of Class, our primary project, which has awarded another $300,000 to celebrate the district’s top performing elementary school. That groundbreaking initiative is now being expanded to recognize the top performing middle school as well.



Bill Horner III
Charlie Welborn
Vicki Haislip

Kirk Bradley
Karen Foushee
Susan Keller
James Kelly
Chet Mann
Kel Normann
George Perkins
Rex Scott
Temple Sloan
Dennis Wicker
Sam Wornom

Dr. Andy Bryan, Superintendent, Lee County Schools, ex officio
Bob Joyce, Economic Development Executive Director, Sanford Area Growth Alliance, ex officio
Dr. Carol Chappell, Executive Director of Instruction for Performance, Lee County Schools, ex officio


PO Box 98
Sanford, NC 27331-0098
Lee County Schools